Lachlan Mansellís Historic Winton Race Report 28th May 2012


Beautiful Classic Machinery Out in Force at Historic Winton 


An immaculately presented collection of racing vehicles, dating back to the 1920s descended upon Winton Motor Raceway on the weekend for the 36th running of Historic Winton


The oldest cars at the meeting raced in the Group J and K class, which included vehicles from the pre-war era. Graeme Raper won the first two races in his Ford Monoskate, but a handicap system was implemented for the final race, which was taken out by the Austn 7 of Peter Matthews with Raper working his way through the field to second position despite the hefty handicap


The group Lb Sports, and Racing class also featured a handicap race which was won by Chris Farrell, who claimed the win in his MG TC ahead of James Elphick and John Anderson. The first non-handicap race was won Mal Reid who held out Bob Schapel in wet conditions, while the third and final race (held in the dry) was won by Ken Bedgood who steadily drove his Lola Mk1 through the field


Ed Holly won the first two races in the Group M, O and Formula Ford category, but Peter Straus collected the spoils in the final. Nick Bennett was the best of the Formula Ford drivers, finishing in the top five outright in each race despite the Formula Fords starting behind the Group M and O cars in each race.


Andrew Makin was the dominant performer in the Group Q and R Sports Racing class winning all three races by a comfortable margin in his March 73B. Peter Whelan and Rohan Carrig battled for second and third position, but Whelan crashed his Chevron B42 heavily in the final race, causing a red flag interruption. Ian Ross capitalised to move up to third place behind Carrig.


The group S races produced an assortment of front-runners. Rohan Little qualified his Porsche 911on pole position in Saturdays wet weather, but a blown engine in Race 1 eliminated him from the remainder of the weekend's proceedings. Conversely, Perry Spiridis only qualified his De Tomaso Pantera GTS seventh, but the car was a jet in the dry and he quickly moved to the front of the field and won Race 1 ahead of the fast finishing Matt Baragwaneth.  


Baragwaneth turned the tables on Spiridis in Race 2, and led all the way in Race 3 with Spiridis not making the race start. Troy Ryan finished second ahead of Laurie Burton


Minis were the cars of choice in Group Na and Nb, occupying the top three spots in each race. Jason Armstrong won all the races, but the main entertainment for spectators was generated by Henry Drapers charge through the field. Draper

Qualified on pole position but missed Race 1 and then clawed his way up into the top-10 with some spectacular overtaking moves.

Michael Hibbert and Anthony Read staged a ferocious arm wrestle for Group C honours, with Hibbert eventually taking the ascendancy after a tremendous tussle which involved multiple lead changes.


A collection of Historic motorcycles also competed in races throughout the weekend. Winners included Neill May (Ken Lucas Trophy) Terry Morris (up to 500 P4/up to 6)

Lachlan Mansell.